top of page
IMG_0135_edited_edited copy.jpg
Photo: Carla Berube(Head Coach) & Abby Meyers

CAMBRIDGE, MA(HARVARD, SMI-SPORTS-COLLEGE,03.11-03.13.22)-Kaitlyn Chen scored 30 points and 3 other players registered in double-figures as nation #24 Princeton women's basketball team defeated Columbia 77-59, in the Ivy League championship game, winning the 2022 Ivy League crown and earning their 9th automatic berth to the NCAA at Lavietes Pavilion, Harvard University.

The Tigers who currently hold the longest winning streak in the Ivy League and the nation with 40, punched its ticket to the NCAA for their 9th time in school program and the first for head coach Carla Berube, who is on her second season with Princeton.

The Tigers and the Lions battled from the start with both teams trading baskets
and exchanging the lead couple times, keeping the score close with the first quarter ending in a 16-16 tied. In the second quarter, both teams kept the offensive momentum but the Tigers shooting percentage from the field in first two quarter was more consistently and effective with Kaitlyn Chen, Abby Meyers and Julia Cunningham combining the major attack for Princeton who led 37-25, at the half.

The third and fourth quarter, Princeton's defense kept the pressure, playing very tight  and made the Lions turned the ball over numerous times where the Tigers' offense took advantage and turned those errors into points for the difference in the game. 

Turning Point of the game:
Columbia turned the ball over 20-times against Princeton with 8.

Princeton were led by Kathlyn Chen with 30 points and who was named the most outstanding player of the tournament. Abby Meyers & Julia Cunningham added 16 apiece while Grace Stone had 10.
Columbia were led by Abby Hsu with 16 points and registered 2-triples.Jaida Patrick had 13 points, Kitty Henderson 11 and Kaitlyn Davis contributed with 10 in the loss.

With the win, The Tigers heads to the NCAA for the 9th time and await for their NCAA Tournament seed and opponent during the NCAA selection show to be announced tomorrow Monday March 14, 2022 at 8:00pm ET

Article & Photos by Marcello Cutti Jr.

IMG_0828 copy.jpg
Photo: Kaitlyn Chen was named the MVP of the Tournament
bottom of page